RSS

Nirvana Moment on Bonfire Night

06 Nov

Wikipedia declares a general definition of Nirvana as “synonymous with the concept of liberation (moksha) which refers to release from a state of suffering after an often lengthy period of committed spiritual practice

Perhaps you could describe the practice of writing as a “state of suffering”. If you are a solitary writer, you may have to isolate yourself at some point to actually get on with the ‘job’ of writing. This isolation could be seen as a “state of suffering” as could writer’s block; lack of self belief; worry that your work and words are not good enough. Then when you actually release your words, in book, script or thesis format you may have your greatest moments of suffering, lack of acknowledgement of your work by your peers, a bad review, poor grades, As a proofreader and editor I have nursed many people through the pain of getting their words and ideas into a happy and healthy format and liberating them from their isolation and self doubt. Support and a good review can give you that writer’s Nirvana Moment.

I have been lucky enough to have that Nirvana Moment with my book, Soft Footsteps, this weekend. I have worked with Ajit Jaokar, the owner of the futuretext publishing group for many years now. I was thrilled to see this wonderful review on his Open Gardens blog. A short extract is below:

Click on image to be redirected to the Kindle Download

Maggie Baldry has long edited many futuretext books including my latest book (to be launched in Jan 2012). However, she had an idea to be a writer and came up with this excellent idea for a book . As Maggie discusses below, I was one of the inspirations for Maggie’s book. I loved the ethos and idea of this book – and Maggie is a great writer and believes in this book. Very glad to be a part of it”

Soft Footsteps celebrates the achievements of women who are leaders in their professional and creative lives, historically and in the 21st century.

The 21st century Soft footsteps of change are pioneering women because they have all been involved in projects that are making best use of new media platforms and leading edge technology. Their work provides pathways within the new media industry for other people to follow, hence, the title of the work; Soft footsteps. Soft footsteps will reveal how individuals with passionate ideas, a strong work ethic and self-belief can create successful and satisfying careers doing work that they love.

I was totally fascinated by the stories of all of the ladies featured in the Soft Footsteps book. It was a labour of love combined with a spiritual practice for me and I hope it will be a source of inspiration for others.  It is probably just a coincidence that Ajit’s blog was posted on Bonfire Night, but it was most definitely a Nirvana Moment for me. It lit up my evening like a spectacular firework display. I would say to anyone else who wants to write and they are still at the “state of suffering”, keep committed, keep writing and enjoy and celebrate any Nirvana Moment.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2011 in Soft Footsteps

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Nirvana Moment on Bonfire Night

  1. Derek Flynn

    November 6, 2011 at 18:31

    Well done, Maggie. The book sounds like such a great idea.

     
    • Maggie

      November 6, 2011 at 18:35

      Thanks for the support Derek. You created another Nirvana Moment for me. +Karma for you 🙂

       
  2. Kelly Gamble

    November 6, 2011 at 19:47

    This sounds like a fantastic book. I’m putting it on my ‘kindle list’ (first I must get a kindle). I really love the historical aspect, I’m a real junkie for that kind of stuff. Thanks, Maggie!

     
    • Maggie

      November 6, 2011 at 19:55

      Many thanks Chief Kelly hugs and +karma for you too.

       
  3. Rob Greene

    November 6, 2011 at 21:14

    I’m constantly struck by how little the world pays due to the women who have driven it. The more attention paid to the topic, the more empowered women and enlightened me, the better.

     
    • Rob Greene

      November 6, 2011 at 21:15

      Sigh. And of course “me” equals “men,” although I suppose I could stand some enlightenment at times.

       
      • Maggie

        November 6, 2011 at 21:44

        Very many thanks for your encouraging comments Rob.

         

Leave a Reply

 
